Greenhouse gas

The six greenhouse gases under the Kyoto Protocol are carbon dioxide (CO2), methane (CH4), nitrous oxide (N2O), HFC compounds (hydrofluorocarbons) PFC compounds (perfluorocarbons) and sulphur hexafluoride (SF6). Other important greenhouse gases are water vapour, ozone and CRF and HCFC compounds. Greenhouse gases cause atmospheric warming by preventing solar radiation from escaping back to space.

Statistics using the definition

Validity of the definition

  • Valid until (31 December 2078)

Source organisation

  • Tilastokeskus